Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

Car Parking Options
richo
Posted: Friday, March 29, 2013 12:10:35 AM
Groups: Member

After three years of this parking/traffic system that clearly doesn't work I'd think organisers would try something new.

I get that a few thousand cars want to leave at the same time. But there's no shortage of entertainment centres, sporting venues and even other festivals dealing with equivalent crowds where it doesn't take 90 minutes and the patience of a saint to get out of the venue.

Why do the two carparks feed onto one road? Make north carpark cars go north and south go south. If people need to go the other direction they can turn around at the next exit a few minutes down the road.

I'm no traffic engineer, but the current system doesn't make much sense...
wigsta
Posted: Friday, March 29, 2013 1:50:46 AM

I whole heartedly agree...we left the festival at 11.15 am and didn't get onto the highway till 2am.....it seems that the powers that be emptied the southern car park before even thinking of directing the north car park. i understand as you say that there are a few thousand cars that leave at the same time, but tonight was just ridiculous.
BigKahuna
Posted: Friday, March 29, 2013 9:07:13 AM

Yep i also totally agree. Also, why was the eastern carpark, closest to the venue completely empty, yet we were forced to park MILES AWAY. Those who arrived last benefited the most as they got to park much closer to the front gate, and exited at the same time as us who were forced to practically park on the freeeway, Complete bullshit

dtucker
Posted: Friday, March 29, 2013 9:22:44 AM

After putting up with this for many years, we discovered the bus. Even if you don't live anywhere near the bus route, you can drive to Brunswick Heads or Byron and catch the bus from there. It's stress free and there's a great vibe in the bus on the way home.