Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members | Log In | Register

What Artists Did Bluesfest Introduce To You?? Options
andrewfuller620000
Posted: Friday, October 12, 2018 11:36:38 AM

Groups: Member

I consider myself reasonably adept at discovering new music through my own efforts. HOWEVER........Bluesfest has introduced me to a lot of new artists, that had it not have been for the festival, I possibly may not have heard of. I have been coming now for 3 years (having wanted to come for many years, but needing a shove from a dear friend to finally convince me to go), and already have my ticket for 2019.

Artists that I had not heard of (and now really like) before they were announced.......

Steve Smyth
Elephant Sessions
Hurray For The Riff Raff
Kaleo
Allen Stone
Songhoy Blues
Fantastic Negrito
Nikki Hill
and
Vintage Trouble.

Many thanks Bluesfest.

"The white man had the schmaltz
The black man had the blues
No one knew what they was gonna do
But Tchaikovsky had the news...."
glenboss
Posted: Friday, October 12, 2018 8:37:44 PM

Last year it was THe Record Company and Snarky Puppy - I think I spent both of these shows with my mouth open thinking "how can anyone be this good"
First time I saw Eric Bibb he put me in such a space that I needed to go back to the tent afterwards for a quiet sit down.
When I first saw Ruthie Foster I was so mesmerised by the beautiful voice, the beautiful music, and the beautiful smiles that all I wanted to do was bundle her up to take her home to show her to my wife
Robert Randolph (and the family band) I was certainly looking forward seeing him but **** **** !!!!! He still holds the no1 spot of all the shows I,ve seen at BLuesfest (I got to meet him in the Vip area the second time he came out. Shook hand s and had a quick chat. Nice bloke he was)